My Style Icon: Audrey Hepburn

One day, on a chilly October afternoon about two years ago, I was bored and scrolling around Netflix trying to find something to entertain me for a while. I had stumbled across a movie that I heard about for many years and how it was a “must see classic” film. So that afternoon, snuggled up in my fuzzy blanket with a warm cup of tea, I watched a film that would change my style forever. That film was ‘Breakfast at Tiffany’s.

8e023deaa33a05bdf6a10ad5d9779e77

From the moment “moon river” started to play and I saw Audrey Hepburn standing there outside of Tiffany’s, in her elegant black dress, beautiful pearl necklace, and her hair in a French twist I simply fell in love. Not only with her grace and elegance, but also her style.

The style Audrey Hepburn posses, in both her personal life and in the characters she plays, is always simple, classic, and chic. Simple black turtlenecks, classic red lipstick, and chic ballet flats are what consist of Audrey’s style, all of which I love.

cec8dea001d897938353e7ca90011526

Achieving Audrey’s style was a simple task. By doing so, I found myself no longer striving to keep up with trends and wasting my money on clothes that would soon be out of style (sorry bomber jackets and flower crowns). I was now investing in more classic clothing pieces that when I look back in pictures I don’t ask myself “what are you wearing?!”. I was buying things like a simple black cardigan or a classic trench coat. Before I purchased something I found myself asking “Would Audrey wear this?” and if the answer was “no” I simply would put it back on the rack.

As of today, I now have achieved the classic Audrey style I have been striving for. I feel confident and chic and actually like my clothes. I also found that I don’t have to waste so much money on clothes because Audrey’s style is timeless and doesn’t fade, unlike the trends I was trying to follow. Thanks to Audrey, not only have I transformed my wardrobe from confused teenage girl stumbling to keep up with the ever changing trends to a classic and timeless style, but I also now have found my confidence and grace in the process.

If you are struggling with style, like I was,  I encourage you to find your own style icon. Or maybe just find a style that you like and think is pretty. Don’t do what I did for so long and try to follow all the trends. By doing this you just end up with a wardrobe of clothes that aren’t you and that you don’t feel happy wearing. The point of fashion is to find a style that makes you feel beautiful and happy about yourself. To give you the confidence to get you through your day. So go out and find a style that inspires you and that you enjoy to wear. Find something that is you. Once you find your true style, you will also find your confidence.

667a9282e641b2f7d7bf4ebe77f0bfb3

“The beauty of a woman is not in the clothes she wears, the figure that she carries, or the way she combs her hair. The beauty of a woman is seen in her eyes, because that is the doorway to her heart, the place where love resides. True beauty in a woman is reflected in her soul. It’s the caring that she lovingly gives, the passion that she shows & the beauty of a woman only grows with passing years.” 
― Audrey Hepburn

sign-off-for-blog-post

2 thoughts on “My Style Icon: Audrey Hepburn

Leave a Reply

