The Fabulous Thing that is a Fascinator

One of my favorite parts about spring is the fashion. Pastel colored sundresses, adorable sandals, and beautiful fascinators. Fascinators are such lovely additions to outfits. From simple little pill box hats to an outrageous display of feathers, this hair accessory is my favorite. Here in America, the only time I seem to see fascinators in stores is around Easter or the Kentucky Derby, and even then quantity is quite small. Fortunately, fascinators are still huge in other parts of the world, such as Europe and the U.K., as we see Kate Middleton always wearing one of these extravagant pieces and I intend on bring them back here to America.

Fascinators are like an exciting conversation piece you get to wear on your head. Who doesn’t want to walk up to the girl who has yellow feathers and lacy on her head and talk to her? They are a unique way to express yourself through your style. If you are a more outgoing person you may wear a bright blue fascinator with an insane saucer or if you are more simple you may wear a chic black fascinator that has a veil and a classy black pillbox hat. That’s one of the most fun things about them! There are so many different kinds of colors, designs, patterns, and styles, making it easy to find one that best suits you and your style.

2

6

I personally will wear any kind of fascinator, depending on the occasion and what kind of mood I am in. For example, the first ever fascinator I bought was a bright yellow one and I wore it for Easter in 2014. It has feathers, ribbon and a subtle saucer. I saw it on Modcloth and fell in love with it and bought it.  Now my fashion senses back in 2014 weren’t too great but I did a pretty ok job at styling it with a dress of the similar color. But, even as my style has changed since I bought it, I still will wear that bright fascinator. Only now I look much cuter with it and style it with a better outfit.

12

7

Besides tea parties and the Kentucky Derby, I feel we should wear fascinators more often here in America. You still can find many beautifully crafted ones for affordable prices at places like Etsy and sometimes Nordstroms. I feel as each decade passes we lose another beautiful fashion trend and fascinators were one of them. Fascinators went out of style in about the 1930’s and I feel we should bring them back in 2017. We need to add some class back to our style. We have lost the art of taking an extra step and dressing up. I feel we should hold ourselves to a higher standard when it comes to fashion and start by taking a simple step by bringing fascinators back.

3

The next time you are headed to church, a wedding, or on a date, I encourage you to go out and find a simple fascinator (or a crazy fun one) and wear it. Yes, people will stare, because their eyes haven’t seen someone take a step of confidence and put on a beautiful hair piece and go out before. Those will be stares of envy at the fact that you, and your lovely fascinator, are grabbing everyone’s attention and not them.

 

sign-off-for-blog-post

One thought on “The Fabulous Thing that is a Fascinator

Leave a Reply

