5 Easy Ways To Relax

Life has been a little crazy lately to be honest. I’ve had to re-take the ACT (which I got a 21! 4 points higher than the first time I took it!), I’m currently trying to finish my senior year of high school, practice driving so I can get my license, apply to college, and a huge pile of other stuff that seems to just keep getting higher. As this list of things to do keeps growing I feel like shutting down. I feel there is just so much to do in so little time. I keep stressing out and am unable to focus. When I get into modes like these, where my anxiety is kicking in a full force and I feel my entire body slowly shutting down, I take a day to relax.

 

Taking a day to relax is so important, both physically and mentally. Taking some time to sit back and breath can help give you energy and clear your mind so you can accomplish your task with a fresh outlook. Too often we forget to do this and work until we break, trust me I do this all the time. Living a high stress life with no relaxing down time is unhealthy and not enjoyable in anyway. Today I am going to share with you my simple and easy ways to relax when life is becoming too much to handle, like how mine currently is.

1. Unplug

Unplugging is one of my favorite ways to relax. Social media is filled with so many anxiety causing things. Seeing other peoples accomplishments when you feel like you are doing nothing, horrible news, even staying up to date with the latest Starbucks trends is overwhelming. By simply turning off my phone or unplugging the computer I can feel my stress level decrease significantly. Allowing myself to focus on what I have right in front of me for awhile instead of what the entire world has going on right that second. Unplugging and being present help me enjoy my life right in front of me, rather than worrying I’m not doing enough because this girl just finished this or this person just got accepted to this college.

3

2. Read

Reading, for me, is somewhat of a magical and surreal way to relax. By reading, I am able to escape reality and be transported where ever I please to be without actually having to leave the comfort of my snuggly bed. I can attend Hogwarts or be a contestant in the Hunger Games, which is sometimes better than dealing with reality. But most importantly, it’s just enjoyable to be able to read about a different world from someone else’s point of view. By doing this I find that it helps me look at my world in a different more positive way most of the time. I don’t look at my stressful situations as stressful anymore because, compared to what some characters in books have to deal with, it’s actually not bad. Having this mind set helps me tackle the task I have in a more positive and efficient way.

 

3. Yoga

There is no better feeling than completing a yoga session when you feel like you are wound up tighter than a pretzel. Practicing deep breathing and trying out new yoga poses calms me down so much. Whenever I am home and I just need to set down a hard task and relax, yoga is what I do. I simply go to my room and shut my door and the world around me out, breathe, and flow from one pose to the next. Letting my body fall into which pose it needs to help it unwind, reboot, and relax.

 

4. Take a bath

Simply filling the tub with bubbles, lavender oil, and lighting my favorite candle is one of the easiest ways for me to relax. By  laying in a warm bath and breathing in the soft smells, I can feel my body and mind calming down. I can feel the weight of the world being lifted off of me with each breath I take. A bath is one of the greatest ways to relax because, not only are you relaxing your mind, but you are also performing an act of self love by cleaning yourself. Another thing which can help calm you down from the high stresses of life.

2

5. Listen to music

Listening to music, whether it’s Taylor Swift or instrumental Disney music, is a simple way to take your mind off the world for a while. I simply close my eyes and listen to each word or note being played, slowly being transported into the song. The beautiful melody being played through my mind slowly and gently over takes the anxiety, leaving me relaxed and clear minded. One of my favorite ways to listen to music is to pop a record on my turn table and lay in bed.

 

I hope you can use one or all five of these ways to relax the next time you are stressed out. I know that I am going to be using them all soon. Don’t forget to take time for yourself and relax. It doesn’t have to be for an entire day, you can simply take an hour or two for yourself and just calm down. Don’t wait until you are at your breaking point either. When you feel life is getting to be too much, pause, relax, and regain your posture, then continue.

sign-off-for-blog-post

Leave a Reply

