Enjoying Time Alone Is Actually Ok

Spending time with myself is something I look forward to on a daily basis. Yes, I enjoy spending time with my friends and family, but I also enjoy time with myself. As an introvert, alone time is when I strive, I am more focused and can get more accomplished. When I’m alone I tend to be more creative and am able to write or can focus on reading or just simply learn more about myself. Being alone is ok, actually it’s a fantastic way to grow and re-energize!

 

I use to be embarrassed by the fact that I needed alone time. My old friends were always together hanging out and, while I enjoyed being with my friends, I needed some time to  myself.  I was actually embarrassed that I need time alone to regain my posture, I thought there was something wrong with me because no one else needed alone time. It took me many years to realize that there is nothing wrong with needing to spend time alone.  All introverts, including myself,  need time away to with themselves to recuperate and get their focus back. And there is nothing wrong with that.

DSC_0775

 

You Can Learn A Lot About Yourself

 

When you spend time alone you aren’t influenced by other people and their opinions. By spending time with myself I have learned who I truly am, what my likes and dislikes are, and I feel I’m actually the person I am suppose to be. Last year I went through something that forced me to spend time alone and away from my friends. Because of this, I learned that I was changing my personality and style to fit in with my friends. I was actually stressed out and exhausted from doing this that I didn’t even realize till I took a moment to step back and be alone for a bit. I also realized that those people actually weren’t my friends and were just using me as a punch line to basically all their jokes.

 

You Can Accomplish A Lot

 

When I am alone I accomplish a lot and I mean a LOT. My mind is able to focus more on the task I have in front of me and I am able to work efficiently. I am also more creative during this time making it even more easier to write, read, or draw. Most of my best work has been written on days when I have spent time with myself, undistracted by the outside world, and able to fully focus on what I was writing.

 

DSC_0777

It Is Actually Really Fun

 

Many people think being alone means you are sad or lonely, but it’s really not. Spending time with yourself is and can be enjoyable. There are so many things that you can do by yourself that you can’t do with other people around (or if you did them around other people they would probably be uncomfortable). You can practice yoga in your underwear, or eat peanut butter out of the jar with your fingers and not be judged. You can listen to the same song on repeat for hours and not have to listen to someone complain. You can read books for hours and hours and not have to worry about carrying on a conversation with someone. Some things are just more enjoyable with yourself than with others around.

 

 

Don’t let people make you feel bad about yourself for needing to spend time with you. It’s a natural thing we all need, especially if you’re introverted.  We need time with ourselves to discover who we truly are without the influences of the world. If I never took the time to be with me I never would listen to music I actually enjoy (T.Swift all day), read the books I actually want to read, wear the clothes that I find pretty, or even started this blog because I would’ve been embarrassed. Embarrassed that I was doing something different even though I enjoyed it  because I was too caught up in fitting in and not actually doing what I enjoyed in life.sign-off-for-blog-post

2 thoughts on “Enjoying Time Alone Is Actually Ok

Leave a Reply

